Crazy Little Thing Called (more like psychopathic to me) Love… A review

35822362

 

Title: Crazy Little Thing Called Love

Author: Charlotte Butterfield

Published: 7 September 2017

Publisher: HarperImpulse

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 2/5

 

 

Goodreads summary

A wonderfully warm-hearted and laugh-out-loud funny romantic comedy for fans of Just Haven’t Met You Yet and Mhairi McFarlane.

When Leila finds herself on the painful end of yet another disastrous break-up, no amount of Ben & Jerry’s and trashy rom-coms can cheer her up. And so – to the amusement of her friends and family – Leila takes a more drastic approach to dealing with heartbreak: she swears off sex for an entire year.

Luckily, she has plenty to keep her mind off men. Between starting a business with ice queen Lucy, straightening out her sister Tasha’s tangled love life, and running a blog read by thousands of single ladies, Leila is soon snowed under. But she can’t help finding a little time for irresistible architect Nick – Lucy’s funny and infuriatingly sexy brother.

After an unplanned encounter under the mistletoe, the Man Ban looks like it might be skidding to a halt. Has Leila found love when she least expected it?

Review

Okay… I chose this book because I went into it thinking it will be ala a romcom book. I mean how can I not think that was the case when on its Netgalley title page the description was and I quote;

“A wonderfully warm-hearted and laugh-out-loud funny romantic comedy for fans of Just Haven’t Met You Yet and Mhairi Mc Farlane”

I did not read no “warm hearted and LOL funny romantic comedy” Ma’am. All I read and received from this book was stress pure unadulterated stress!

Image result for why the lies gif

My biggest sore spot was all the GOD DAMNED LIES! I do not like liars. If you did it for a very good reason for example you were blackmailed, you are a super spy, the lies is important to achieve the end goal and it is just IMPERATIVE THAT YOU LIE then fine. Fine, I can understand that but if you lie so people or more like your followers don’t need to know that you are not on a man ban anymore and there was no reason to lie in the first place that I absolutely cannot condone.

Image result for why the lies gif

In my perspective, Leila didn’t need nor have a reason to lie or cover up the truth. So what during a man ban you found a guy who you liked and clicked with. She is in her thirties if I am not mistaken and she can’t even own up that she fell in love with a man that she didn’t plan on falling in love with. Yeah, okay, maybe her lying was integral to the whole plot but seriously nobody is going to judge you man. Nobody plans to fall in love.

This leads me to the overall plot of the book which I felt were haywire at best. The first half of the book even while I did not agree with Leila lying through her teeth for her stupid man ban I still loosely enjoyed the book. It still gave a romcom feel but the last half of the book was a WTF did I just read AT BEST.

Image result for wtf gif

Should I spoil the book? Oh, fuck it you guys know I spoil books anyway for ya’ll. So, if you plan to read the book and do not want to be spoiled DO NOT READ THE SEGMENT BELOW. I REPEAT DO NOT READ!

Okay, out of fucking nowhere Lucy (Leila’s sister-in-law and wife to Marcus, Leila’s brother) plans to have an affair with Alex (Leila’s brother-in-law and husband to Leila’s sister Tasha) because she wants a baby SOOOOO BADDDD and I am here like what in the name of Sweet Baby Jesus IS GOING ON? I am desperate for a male companion but you don’t see me kidnapping the male species do you? Like, how do you even get to that end point of where you want a baby so much you are willing to commit adultery????!! AND WITH YOUR BROTHER-IN-LAW AT THAT? What happend to just talking it out with your husband? Mind you these two just got married for 9 – 10 months essentially less than a year.

Which brings me to the whole dysfunctional relationship that is present in this book. Can’t anybody just talk it out with their spouses and significant other? Everybody is just assuming what the other is thinking. That is never good in a relationship. If my friends ordered small sized pizza because they ASSUMED that it was what I wanted I will hit them on the head with a frying pan because that is just BS.

Image result for okay im calm gif

Okay, rants aside. Not all of the book is bad. There were some comedic parts that did make me laugh and I can empathize with Tasha’s dysfunctional marriage where she knows her husband is cheating and she is numb to it; I see this happening in real life but as for the other I truly cannot empathize nor understand especially when the solution to the problem is just for both parties to talk it out and if the other person cannot accept it then they are not worth your time nor affections.

If the book was marketed properly to me where they didn’t market it as a romcom, I would have definitely enjoyed this book more and the intricacies that come with relationships especially relationships that are bound by marriage and family but because I was duped into believing this book was a fun romcom when in my mind it definitely wasn’t was a huge obstacle that my mind just could not wrap around especially what with all the lies and the out of nowhere change of tone in the last half of the book.

Mind you I wanted to give up reading this book when I hit 21% in my Kindle when I realized that Leila was defo lying about her man ban. Truly, I wanted to give up but I also wanted to know how the plot pans out so I persevered and I regret it because the plot just left me dissatisfied, upset and confused.

Related image

Me whenever I remember why I didn’t like this book

*The book was provided by the publisher via Netgalley in return for an honest review

**Seriously, seriously read the synopsis tell me if it’s not misleading… I thought it was going to be a fun light read not about crazy dysfunctional people who cannot use their brains to save their relationship.